A loaf of bread, a jug of wine, and thou.

Omar Khayyam

LIVE-STREAM CLASSES FOR MARCH AND APRIL 2021:  

SEE BELOW FOR CLASS DESCRIPTION AND COST

A note about timing:  Making delicious sourdough bread takes time.  It doesn't take a whole lot of work, but it does take time.  Which is the very reason why the workshops are on the long side.  With that said, so much of that time is spent with the bread rising, just doing it's own thing, so there will be many breaks throughout the day. This is the beauty of a baking workshop on zoom, we can all be in our own homes, and just sign off for a break and then pop back on...it's all good!

Saturday March 27th: Sourdough Starter Basics

UK: 5pm to 6.30pm  

US: EST 1pm to 2.30pm

US: PST 10am to 11.30am

Saturday April 3rd: Simple Sourdough Bagels

UK: 2pm to 7pm  

US: EST 9am to 2pm

US: PST 6am to 11am

Saturday April 10th: Classic Sourdough Bread

UK: 2pm to 7pm  

US: EST 9am to 2pm

US: PST 6am to 11am

COST OF WORKSHOPS

All of the workshops are offered on a sliding scale from £10 to £30, so essentially whatever you feel you can afford right now. Also, we're happy for you to pay after the workshop, so you can see if what you think of it before you pay!

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION

Sourdough Starter Basics:

The goal of this workshop is to get a clear understanding of a simple sourdough starter.  We will be talking through the process of building your own sourdough starter, as well as caring for your starter once it's up and running.  We will discuss different types of starters, different feeding patterns, as well as the pros and cons of using different types of flours.  Essentially though, the intention of the workshop is that you walk away with a clear understanding of how to create, care for, and use a sourdough starter.  If you are new to baking, this class is also a prerequisite for all the other baking classes.

Click here for a list of things you'll need for the day.  

Simple Sourdough Bagels: 

There are very few things in life as magnificent as a homemade bagel.  And to top it off, they're actually super simple to make.  So in this workshop, surprise surprise, we'll be learning how to make delicious sourdough bagels.  It'll be fab, we'll talk through starters, flours, proofing, with lots of time for questions, and also lots of time for tea breaks, incase you need to jump off line for parts of the workshop.  So yea, it'll be a blast, and you'll come away knowing how to make bagels!  

 

Click here for a list of things you'll need for the day.  

Classic Sourdough Bread: 

The goal of this workshop is to share my love of all things sourdough baking.  I will take you through working with a sourdough starter, preparing the dough, understanding the basic fundamentals of sourdough fermentation, and finally baking your loaf in a home oven. Fundamentally my hope is to inspire you to see the beauty and delight in baking sourdough bread, and to recognise that at it's essence, baking at home is something we can all find joy in (unless you're celiac, grrrr).  During the breaks while the bread is rising, there will be lots of time for questions, and chatting, and breaks throughout the day.  It'll be fun, I promise!

Click here for a list of things you'll need for the day.