There is no chiropractic treatment, no yoga exercise, no hour of meditation in a music-throbbing chapel, that will leave you emptier of bad thoughts than this homely ceremony of making bread. 

M.F.K. Fisher

OUR VISION

Sharing our passion for traditional sourdough bread and Mindfulness meditation

There is something truly special about being able to bake traditional sourdough bread. You can feel the dough in your hands, watch it rise, smell it bake.  The taste though…oh the taste of freshly baked sourdough bread. It feeds the soul as much as it does the belly. There is also something truly special about being sensitive to energy and more present and fully alive to our actual, lived experience –– which is what mindfulness and qigong can support. When we combine baking alongside these practices, we can create a gorgeous synthesis of beautiful and important life skills.

LIVE-STREAM CLASSES FOR MAY:

Sunday May 3rd 2020: Country Sourdough and Meditating

UK: 1pm-7pm (For the US: EST 8am-2pm, PST 5am-11am.)

Sunday May 17th 2020: Country Sourdough only 

UK: 5pm-9pm (For the US: EST 12pm-4pm, PST 9am-1pm.)

Sunday May 31st 2020: Country Sourdough and Meditating

UK: 1pm-7pm (For the US: EST 8am-2pm, PST 5am-11am.)

Cost of workshop: Sliding scale from £20 ($25) to £50 ($60), or basically whatever you feel you can afford right now. Oh and if you're with the NHS it's on us!

SIGN UP FOR A CLASS OR JUST SEND US A NOTE

What they say about Awake and Bake

Learning how to make sourdough has been such a gift, so much more than simply learning how to bake bread. This is an art that has created connection, with my partner when we bake together, with friends and family who I gift our delicious loaves to, and with everyone I have gone on to share these skills with -- Kim

I am not someone who enjoys cooking and have never been very good at it, but making bread is now one of my favourite things to do. It's a massive source of joy and satisfaction for me, and brings a sense of self-sufficiency that I really value. Thank you Aaron for sharing this wonderful method of bread-making, it has impacted my life in more ways than I'd have believed  - Shaun

ABOUT AARON AND MIMI

Where to start?  I guess, starting here and now.  Mimi and Aaron are married, and live on a small holding in Oxfordshire, UK. They‘re into all things permaculture, mushrooms, growing veg, keeping chickens, and they are currently waiting for a swarm of bees to choose their new tree hive.  Oh and they love sourdough bread.  Oh and they also love meditation, and all things qigong.  So that’s them in a nutshell.  

Join our mailing list for updates

©2020 by Awake and Bake